Business Articles



Who will make the Director’s Cut? Shortlist revealed for this year’s IoD Awards

Leaders from Northern Ireland’s business elite have joined forces to judge a record number of entries for the 2017 IoD NI First Trust Bank Director of the Year Awards.


The Awards recognise leadership excellence across a range of sectors and businesses of all sizes. A total of 27 local directors have been shortlisted in 10 different categories. Last year, Northern Ireland winners went on to pick up five national titles including the IoD UK ‘Overall Director of the Year’ Award.



Des Moore, Head of First Trust Bank said, “From reviewing this year’s entries, it’s clear that organisations here continue to place leadership development at the top of their agendas. By nurturing and harnessing the skills and qualities that make an exemplary leader - from good governance to innovative problem solving – our local businesses are acutely contributing to the success of their organisations and the NI economy as a whole. Together with the IoD, we look forward to commending the efforts and dedication of those shortlisted later this Spring.”


Linda Brown, Director of IoD Northern Ireland added; “Not only do these awards celebrate directors at the forefront of leadership performance; they also shine a spotlight on best-in-class practices and so help inspire other business leaders. I know the judges found this year’s review process particularly gruelling given the high calibre of entries and we look forward to unveiling who made the ‘Director’s Cut’ at the awards lunch in April.”


Shortlisted nominees will find out their fate at the awards ceremony hosted by well-known broadcaster Barra Best on 6th April 2017 at the Merchant Hotel, Belfast. Awards will be presented to winners in 10 categories with a special award for the Young Enterprise NI Director of the Year.


The IoD NI First Trust Bank Director of the Year Awards and shortlisted candidates include;

Large Company Director of the Year (t/o £100m+) sponsored by First Trust Bank


  • Janet McCollum, Moy Park
  • Ian Thom, Viridian Group

Mid-Market Company Director of the Year (t/o £10 -£99.9m) sponsored by the


  • Mark Currie, Donaghmore Construction

  • Brett Ross, River Ridge Recycling

  • Tina McKenzie, Staffline Ireland

SME Director of the Year (t/o under £10m) sponsored by Ulster University Business School


  • Robert McConnell, CCP Gransden

  • Steven Thompson, Out There Services

  • Norah Anne Barron, Pi Communications

  • Colin Williams, Sixteen South

International Director of the Year (min 25% of turnover from sales outside the UK) sponsored by Invest Northern Ireland


  • Alan Lowry, Environmental Street Furniture Ltd

  • Celine Grant, Re-Gen Waste

  • Colin Williams, Sixteen South

Public Sector Director of the Year sponsored by Capita Managed IT Solutions


  • Suzanne Wylie, Belfast City Council

  • Sam Waide, BSO Health & Social Care

  • Gary Thompson, Northern Ireland Fire & Rescue Services

Family Business Director of the Year (at least second generation family business) sponsored by BDO Northern Ireland


  • David Jameson, David Jameson Roofing Services Ltd

  • Gareth Loye, M&M Contractors & Mascott Construction

Third Sector Director of the Year sponsored by First Trust Bank


  • Declan Cunnane, Northern Ireland Chest Heart & Stroke

  • Maeve Monaghan, NOW Group

  • Ben Beadle, Tenancy Deposit Scheme Northern Ireland

Non-Executive Director of the Year sponsored by 4c Executive Search


  • Dr Bryan Keating, Learning Pool

  • Richard MacDonald, Moy Park

Leadership in Corporate Responsibility sponsored by Power NI


  • Greg McDaid, Fujitsu

  • Michelle Owens Gregory, Miniversity

Young Director of the Year (under 42 at time of entry) sponsored by Carson McDowell

  • Robert McConnell, CCP Gransden

  • Mark Currie, Donaghmore Construction

  • Norah Anne Barron, Pi Communications

Young Enterprise NI Director of the Year nominated by Young Enterprise NI and sponsored by Concentrix to be named at the Awards lunch.